California Public Adjuster Law

CE Course description

According to Investopedia, "a public adjuster is an insurance industry professional whose job is to assist the policyholder in making a claim from an insurance company. They represent the insured rather than the insurer.
Independent adjusters and company adjusters work for insurance companies. Therefore, they have the companies' interest in mind, rather than the policyholders, when working on a claim. The public adjuster, on the other hand, works in the policyholder's interest. They are hired if the policyholder finds the claim process too stressful and cumbersome or if they have doubts about the adjuster provided by the insurance company".

California
The California Insurance Code, Section 15007, states, in part, that a public insurance adjuster within the meaning of that chapter is:

  • "a person, who, for compensation, acts on behalf of or aids in any manner, an insured in negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage under any policy of insurance covering real or personal property, or
  • any person who advertises, solicits business, or holds himself or herself out to the public as an adjuster of those claims; and
  • any person who, for compensation, investigates, settles, adjusts, advises, or assists an insured with reference to claims for those losses on behalf of any public insurance adjuster".

This course focuses on select Public Adjuster Law, Insurance Statutes and Rules, relating to California Public Adjusters. It includes the major categories of:

  • Public Insurance Adjusters Act
  • The Contract
  • Parties, Negotiations, and Policies
  • Emergency Disaster Assessment

This course contributes to a public insurance adjuster's understanding of select applicable insurance statutes and rules, how the adjuster relates these to the adjusting of insurance claims, and that the adjuster's competence is improved by completion of this course.

Total Hrs / Order Price
1-5 hrs $19.95
6-17 hrs $29.95
18-24 hrs $44.95
25-50 hrs $54.95
51+ hrs $54.95 + $2.00 per additional hour over 50
In addition: A State filing fee of $0.65 Per Credit Hour will be added to the total

Pricing based on total number of hours in order.